Call for Papers



Business Processes in Collective Adaptive Systems 

(BPCAS 2014)

September 8, 2014, Haifa, Israel

In conjunction with the 12th International Conference on Business Process Management (BPM 2014)

Submission deadline: 1 June 2014


BPCAS is a new workshop focusing on all topics related to Collective Adaptive Systems (CAS). It aims to provide a high-quality forum for the presentation of developments in CASs and for bringing together researchers and practitioners from diverse disciplines interested in CASs both within the business process community and outside. The latter are particularly welcome to submit to the workshop.

Topics of interest include:

  •  business process modeling for CAS
  •  collective configuration of business processes in CAS
  •  context/knowledge-aware business processes in CAS
  •  adaptation and evolution in CAS
  •  formal methods for CAS
  •  distribution and mobility in CAS
  •  big data in CAS
  •  process similarity and emergent properties of CAS
  •  security and privacy in CAS
  •  machine learning and data mining techniques for CAS
  • optimization of CAS
  •  frameworks, tools and programming paradigms for CAS
  •  usability aspects of CAS
  •  case studies and scenarios

Accepted papers will be published by Springer as a post-workshop proceedings volume in the series Lecture Notes in Business Information Processing (LNBIP). In addition authors of the best papers will be invited to submit a revised and extended version of their paper to a special issue of the IET Software journal.  The workshop is sponsored by the EU’s Fundamentals of Collective Adaptive Systems programme initiative (


Submission deadline (extended): June 8, 2014
Author notification: July 1, 2014
Camera-ready submission: July 23, 2014
Workshop date: September 8, 2014


Manfred Reichert, Universität Ulm, Germany



Antonio Bucchiarone, Fondazione Bruno Kessler, Italy
Naranker Dulay, Imperial College London, UK
Dimka Karastoyanova, University of Stuttgart, Germany
Anna Lavygina, Imperial College London, UK
Adnan Tariq, University of Stuttgart, Germany

Program Committee

Vasilios Andrikopoulos, University of Stuttgart, Germany
Salima Benbernou, Université Paris Descartes, France
Marina Bitsaki, University of Crete, Greece
Alexei Lapouchnian, University of Toronto, Canada
Kim Larsen, Aalborg University, Denmark
Lior Limonad, IBM Haifa, Israel
Christos Nikolaou, University of Crete, Greece
Francisco Pereira, SMART-MIT, Singapore
Marco Pistore, Fondazione Bruno Kessler, Italy
Manfred Reichert, Universität Ulm, Germany
Kurt Rothermel, University of Stuttgart, Germany
Alessandra Russo, Imperial College, UK
Nikola Serbedija, Fraunhofer FIRST, Germany
Pnino Soffer, University of Haifa, Israel
Arnon Sturm, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel
Yury Tsoy, Institut Pasteur Korea, South Korea
Ingo Weber, NICTA, Australia


We invite submissions in two forms: full papers and position papers. Submitted papers must be written in English, should not have been submitted for review or published elsewhere, and should not exceed 12 pages for full papers, and 6 pages for position papers (including figures, bibliography and appendices).

Submissions are only accepted in PDF format via the EasyChair system ( Submissions should be formatted according to the LNBIP format specified by Springer.

At least one author of each accepted paper is required to present the paper at the workshop.


For further information contact Anna Lavygina (